Polkadot at Universities

Hi Fellows, how are you doing?

I’m opening this topic to discuss the teaching of Polkadot technology at universities. I think Polkadot Blockchain Academy is a great initiative but besides that, how is the teaching and adoption of Polkadot at universities? Does anybody have information on that?

I’m asking because I’m a university professor in Brazil, and also a former W3F grants evaluator and I’m thinking of proposing something related to training students at universities as part of the Decentralized Futures initiative.

Cheers.

15 Likes

I would support this. There is a lot of room to use Substrate at universities and teach Rust in general - I brought in Carol Nichols, one of the authors of The Rust Programming Language, to one of my QA classes to give a comparison between C and Rust, and it was one of the more popular classes I held. I haven’t seen much integration of Rust into University curricula.

I would also like @radha to weigh in on this, as we have discussed it also.

There was a Referendum for something similar a while back on the Polkadot Treasury, but I can’t find it at the moment.

2 Likes

After publishing the introductory online courses on Rust and Polkadot-SDK on https://www.edx.org/school/web3x, the Technical Education team has plans to develop programs for educators. These programs draw inspiration from NVIDIA’s Deep Learning Institute that provide resources for the instructors at the universities to teach a full semester course.

Provision of a fully packaged Teaching kit like Deep Learning Teaching Kits for Educators | NVIDIA with instructional content, assessments, programming exercises and a faucet to give access to test nets for Polkadot would be our objective.

We are happy to collaborate on this effort with an able team that has proven experience in building high quality blockchain courses.

1 Like