Representation of Polkadot Beyond Its Immediate Ecosystem, e.g., Proper DefiLlama TVL Tracking

Hello everyone. This is my first forum post here so forgive me if I mess up any formatting or tagging.

I used to work in blockchain marketing so I’m mostly just offering a marketing perspective here. Unfortunately, while I understand various technical concepts, I’m not a dev so I have limited programming knowledge.

I was reading Gavin’s “Polkadot 2023 Roundup” and he mentioned “$250m of USDC alone sits on the Polkadot Asset Hub, with more in USDT contributing to the ecosystem’s stablecoin total.”

If you go on a website like Defillama, these statistics are not represented at all. The total TVL listed for all Polkadot parachains is $464.4m (at time of writing, with every “Include in TVL” box checked). Using Gavin’s numbers, this TVL should be significantly higher.

The problem is that people outside of Polkadot’s ecosystem might not realize how much value is actually in the ecosystem, and this may discourage them from entering Polkadot’s DeFi ecosystem. After all, Defillama is the first result you get after searching “Polkadot TVL” on Google and no other result shows the proper TVL numbers either. It’s excessively inconvenient to gather accurate Polkadot TVL numbers - requiring a process that the average person probably doesn’t want to go through.

On top of this, there are issues with Defillama’s general tracking of parachain projects. For example, Centrifuge isn’t listed at all despite having $255m+ TVL total in their pools.

There’s also the matter of both “Polkadot” and “Polkadot: All Chains” being listed as separate entities/stats.

Links for reference: