Poll: Real-world applications on the App Store

Hi all,

While asking a technical question, I came upon a broader ecosystem question. Full disclosure: I am an iPhone developer interested in developing for Polkadot.

The Polkadot{.js} extension works only with Google Chrome and Mozilla Firefox, not Apple Safari.

This web browser targeting makes sense. Chrome has a 63 percent global market share and Safari, as the #2 web browser, has only 21 percent global market share. (Statista)

But what the web browser data may not take into account, is that iPhone users also use the Safari/WebKit browser engine when they use any iPhone app to access the web. It is mandated by Apple.

I understand why Safari may be unappealing. The closed ecosystem is antithetical to Web3 ideals. However, I believe the iPhone is a good way to reach mainstream users. And the limitations of Apple policies may change over time. For example, by March 2024 we will see the impact of the European Union Digital Markets Act on Apple policy.

The numbers, in terms of web browser market share, and the global market share of iPhone devices, do not support my view. However, the gross margins are interesting. Apple sells less phones than Samsung, but at a higher profit margin (Investopedia). This indicates that consumers are willing to pay more for iPhones. Perhaps the market share is not the key metric.

Despite the market share numbers and the policy challenges, I’m advocating for developing for the App Store, to position Polkadot for the future.

Do you share my view? As a community member, is putting effort into developing Web3 apps for the App Store something you would support?

• Yes, put effort into developing Web3 apps for the App Store.
  • No, do not put effort into developing Web3 apps for the App Store.

0 voters

Reference Links: