Data storage/availability

Continuing the discussion from Rethinking the road to decentralisation:

In other words, we (as in the blockchain ecosystem in general) haven’t found a good way to store data “somewhere” and being sure to be able to retrieve it later. IPFS for example doesn’t guarantee that you’ll retrieve it later, and Filecoin last time I’ve checked doesn’t really work and has oriented itself towards cold storage anyway.

Don’t pinning services guarantee that you can retrieve IPFS data later?

I have been using a pinning service for a couple months now to ensure that my IPFS content stays available.

A recent issue I encountered is IPNS reliability; my website/pages were unavailable for a couple days because of a 504 Gateway Time-Out. As a quick-fix I redirected my primary domain to the pinning gateway server.

I am curious, how are others in the ecosystem handling data storage and availability?

Pinning services are centralized services.

If the owner of a pinning service decided to shut it down, everyone would lose their data without any automatic fallback.

And just like every centralized service, they work by reputation. A pinning service could simply decide to throw away your data if they wanted. You have no guarantee that they won’t delete your data, you just have their word that they won’t do it.

Because they work by reputation, everyone ends up using the same pinning service (not trusting small alternatives), which increases the power of the owners of the service, etc. All the drawbacks of centralization.

They are free not because they don’t have monthly costs but because they’re subsidized (I don’t really know by who, maybe Protocol Labs, or a treasury, or they have a premium service). Every file that you pin increases their monthly bill. I suspect that if the volume of data was high, it wouldn’t be free anymore.

1 Like

I agree. Definitely a stop gap.