Cross-chain NFT transfer

Hello everyone!

I am a developer from the Unique Network team. We consider ideas for implementing a cross-chain NFT transfer via XCM v3.

Two central problems should be solved:

• Parachain trust problem
  • Metadata transferring

The first one could be solved using reserve locations as with fungibles. See Keith Yeung’s answer on StackOverflow for details How can I transfer assets using XCM? - Substrate and Polkadot Stack Exchange. So there is a trusted 3rd party (the reserve location) parachain – the native chain of an NFT.

The other way to solve this is to use SPREE modules so parachains can trust only a SPREE module designed for NFT transferring, but there is no SPREE implementation for now, and it won’t be for a while.

The second problem could be solved via XCM Transact: the NFT metadata could be packed inside an extrinsic argument. There is enough space to store an NFT since the maximum size of an XCM message is 100 kb.

So, here is our current idea of cross-chain NFT transferring:

• Chain A holds an NFT originating at chain S (this NFT is native to chain S)
    So, chain A possesses the NFT at chain S by its sovereign account, and chain A provides a derivative of the NFT.
  • If the NFT owner wants to transfer it to another chain B, chain A will:
    • Lock (not burn) the NFT on its side (InitiateReserveWithdraw)
    • Ask chain S to transfer the NFT from chain A’s sovereign account to chain B’s sovereign account (DepositReserveAsset)
    • DepositReserveAsset to chain A’s sovereign account on chain B (we are not ready to give the NFT to the target account since the metadata can’t be transferred via XCM Transact now – the origin is cleared due to reserve transfer) and report back about the result of the program (XCM ReportError).
    • [error] If there is an error, chain A automatically sends the ClaimAsset command and initiates reserve transfer to the original owner on chain A.