New to DOT - Staking & Parachain Candle Auctions

Hi, as a little background: I’m new to the community. I’m not a developer. I don’t have enough DOT to stake.

After everything I have watched and read, I believe in polkadot. However, I’m seeing a lot of new comers like me getting lost in the knowledge gap. I want to join the community but I don’t want to get burned. What is the next step or possible steps for participation if I can’t stake? How can I bond my DOT and participate in parachain candle auctions? I’ve been on polkadot.js but since I can’t stake and I generally don’t understand the proposals/referenda I’m not able to actively participate. My goals are to grow my knowledge, grow my DOT and learn how to contribute to the community. I don’t see a lot of info on best practice for digital security. Is there another path for non-developers to join the community? Something like the beta testnet challenges (PolkaBTC) but intended for teaching newbies.

Thanks in advance. :vulcan_salute:

PS Can someone get @windylion a free couple dranks for his work on the forum?

2 Likes

Hey @munon welcome to the forum! That’s super kind of you for the @ mention.

I don’t have enough DOT to stake.

Did you know there is no minimum stake amount to receive rewards if you use a custodial service like Kraken? More info here.

What is the next step or possible steps for participation if I can’t stake?

Ways to participate besides staking:

1. Helping newcomers with questions in various forums
  2. Delving further into learning the technicals by attending webinars including the upcoming Polkadot Decoded. This is also a great way to stay current on what’s happening in the ecosystem.
  3. Reading and commenting on governance discussions and treasury proposals.